The following appeared in a memo from the new Vice President of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

This memo from the Vice President of the men's manufacturing company concluded that purchasers will be eager to pay significantly more amount for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago because the rates of a variety of clothing have increased in each of the past five years, this will help their company to fitch more profit. The author of the argument presents evidence to suggest this is valid including that they have a new fabric supplier and their number one competitor is no longer manufacturing an alpaca overcoat. Though the underlying issue may have merits, because of a lack of relevant evidence, unaddressed assumptions, and vague terminology the author's argument is unsubstantiated and deeply flawed.

The first reson offered is that the company has hired a new fabric supplier and now they are ready to begin the production of alpaca overcoat, according to the vice president of the company this a going to pave their way toward the profitable revenue. The question is does the new supplier has the same quality of material as compared to the earlier one? Will it provide the similar comfort as of previous once?