The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that

manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality

wool fabric, we discontinued production of our popular alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a

new fabric supplier, we should resume production. Given the outcry from our customers

when we discontinued this product and the fact that none of our competitors offers a

comparable product, we can expect pent-up consumer demand for our alpaca coats. This

demand and the overall increase in clothing prices will make Sartorian's alpaca overcoats

more profitable than ever before."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of Sartorian has prognosticated that the company would make great sales with their new product if the company increases apparel price, basing his argument on customer’s previous demand rate and absent of competitors who produce same wool. While the memo presents points to back this claim, these points all seems to debilitate the claim. This is because the argument rely on unjustified assumptions, non-logical reasoning, and false prediction.

To begin with, the vice president assumed that the customers, who patronized the company five years ago, would still be interested in the Sartorian’s products. This is logically flawed as the author fails to consider change in clients’ taste. Perhaps the clients have found interest in other products or brands. Or maybe the competitors, whom the president deemed not to offer comparable products, have started the sales of the product three years ago. Thereby, attracting all Sartorian’s clienteles. To improve this argument, the author need to show that customers are still interested in their product.

Let’s even assume the customers are still interested in Sartorian’s product.The vice president erroneously assumed that the new fabric, which was not said to be of the same quality as the old fabric, will meets the customers’ satisfaction. What if the new fabric is of less quality? Or perhaps, this new fabric has gone out of style and will no longer motivate people to patronize the company. To ameliorate the argument, the author needs to show that the new wool will meet the customers’ requirement, thereby galvanizing the clients to patronize Sartorian.

Additionally, the vice president assumed that the demand, which existed five years ago, and increasing the new apparel’s price would lead to tremendous increase in profit. Perhaps, this new wool is more expensive than the old wool. Thereby, causing price increment to lead to loss reduction rather than increase in profit. Also, present sales will not be like sales of five years ago since it is possible for Sartorian clients’s rate to have slumped. Hence, to strengthen the argument, the author needs to show that increase in the new fabric’s price will ultimately lead to increase in profit.

In summary, while the vice president of Sartorian seem to have presented reasons why the fabric might be profitable, these reasons tend to impair the vice president’s claim. Thus, to increase the cogency of this claim, the author need to validates these arguments. This will eventually make the claim logically sound and convincing.