The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Conclusion : Focussing on domestic cheese rather than stocking on imported cheese

Assumption: last yr fuve best selling are domestic

survey preference for domestic

Unstated: is the scenario same from last year?

In the memo from the cheese store owner of USA stated that store should focus primarily on domestic cheeses rather than imported ones so that can reduce the expenses and can increase the profits. This conclusion is made on the assumptions that last year five best selling cheeses at their new store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. However, more light is shed on the issue and more detailed facts are concerned, lack of answers through the argument leads me to question its validity.

First of all, is the scenario same from the last year? In other words, are people now interested to buy domestic cheese than the imported ones? Maybe last year there was no imported cheese so people have no option rather than buying the domestic cheese. It is possible that the price of the imported cheese were higher than the domestic which in turn increased the sales. If the above assumption is merit then the argument is weakened.

Secondly, is the survey reliable? In other words, did the questions asked in the survey were genuine and accurate or were they biased so that people can chose only domestic satellites? It might be possible that questions were asked in a way that people are tend to chose the option which includes domestic cheese. If the above mentioned scenario is true then the argument doesn’t hold water.

Finally, is there any new cheese which is imported in the market? It might be possible that the new imported cheese might be into the market. Perhaps, people are more keen to try new cheese rather than the domestic ones. If the above mentioned assumption is true then argument is not strengthened.

To conclude, the argument, stands as of now is considerably flawed. However, if the owner provides more evidence and offers answers to the above questions then the argument can be considerably flawed.