Given the good surface quality of the road built by Appian Roadway company, The vice president prefer to choose Appian Roadways to help them construct the access roads for their brand-new shopping center. However, it is hard to say the idea from the vice president is reasonable. There is some other problematic question in his conjecture.

Firstly, the vice president notice that the surface quality of the Route 101 which built by Good intentions Roadways is too dangerous. On the contrast, the surface quality of the Route 40 is still good enough. Nevetheless, he didn't think carefully about the causes of the bad surface quality. Maybe the weather is too bad, with frequent rainy days. As we all know, for sometimes,the rain poured from the sky is a little bit corrosive. The corrosive rain would accerate the damageing velocity of the road. What's more, maybe the most of vehicles running on the Route 101 are trucks which always loaded some heavy freights. These kinds of cars with heavy weights would worsen the road quality. We can't find all these additional conditions above from the memo. And it hard to predict the next road built by Appian Roadways would stay good quality for at least four years.

Secondly, the vice president aruged that it is a commitment to quality for the Appian Roadway purchasing sophisticated machines and new quality-control manager. However, personally, a new manager has to pay some time to adapt to a new working environment. He may even a neo manager who was just promoted a few months ago without any experiences. In addition, the brand-new paving machine maybe more useful,but maybe the company haven't master how to repair it what if the machine could not work. We can't know all about these situations.

All in all, in my opinion, the Vice President should make a deep investigation about these two company in order to make a clear view of which company would be better. And the Vice President should focus more on the either efficiency of building roads or the road surface quality.