The following appeared in the memo from the Vice President of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"according to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year ..

The vice president is of the opnion that the pest control company they have signed a contract with is creating more losses than the former one. Even though, it is chargeing a lower amount for its services he/she advises that the company must switch back to the former pest-controller. This is so because the monetary loss created by the new one are higerh than the old one. However, there seem to be quite a few more factors to be considered before taking the said decision. These are as discussed below.

As the Buzzoff Pest Control (BPC) has worked for many years with the company the president wishes to go back to it on the failure of the new pest controller. Since the former too incurred losses why not look for a another pest-contol company altogether? There could be more options.

The company has been in alliance with (BPC) for a longer time period than Fly-away pest control (APC) hence, the latter has not been given enough trial time to prove its proficiancy. The firm needs to be given time to gauge the areas that have to be protected , find the right equipments and chemicals suitable to the grain, check for its accessibility etc. To have ideal results in a month’s time is too ambitious and erroneous.

Another problem with the suggestion is that BPC and APC have worked in differnt cities. Those cities could be differnt with respect to climate, insect habitaiton and breeding etc. Thus, to compare the performance of the companies put in different warehouses seem unfair.

Lastly, APC has caused a loss worth ten thousand dollars more than BPC but what if the APC has managed to save more grain. In other words, the grain stored by APC could be more expensive. Thus, the damage to a small food quantity could mean a relatively greater monetary loss.

Hence, all in all, there needs to be a undertaken a thorough scrutiny of the the two comapnys’ functioning prior to condeming one more inefficient than the other. All the exogenous factors must be made uniform before comparing the two and other pest-contollers must be given a chance to deal with the said food distributing company.