Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

A Utilateranian approach towards the conduction of research has long been under academic discourse. According to many, the research study is utility is tantamount to the live of the number of people it effects. The greater the vested interests in the result of a scientific reserach the greater is the incentive to execute it. This is how majority of the pharmaceuticals decide for their fund-allotment. However, whether this is the ideal premise for progress in research is a highly contentious topic.

Firsly, there is a good chance that what exists for the minority may one day trancsend to loom over the majority and thus be deletrious. This is specailly the case with diseases. They begin at a small scale and then grow to be prevailing almost everywhere. The porliferation of SARs, HIV(AIDS), Swine flu etc. fall under this category.

Secondly, it has been long known that the world is exposed to the butterfly effect. What happends in one corner of the globe could engender differenet and wide ranging phenomenon at the other end. This could be the very reason why sociologists and economists have studied what falls under microfinance. In rural India, extensive study over small savings to be cumulated for one and all through policies has been exceptionally fruitful. Hence, a small saving here, could do wonders there.

Thirdly, there are many socilogical and cultural problems that minority communities face. They are tied down by religious dogmas and can never fight over the opression they’re subjected to. The case of Female Genital Mutilation, prevalent in the minority Muslim communities may not be resolved without research that could then be staged for the world for their awareness. This is how humanity in small pockets of the world can be saved.

In conclusion, scientists must look into all fields with the ambition to bring something beneficial to the society. It is true that the financial viability is a big hinderance when it comes to catering to the wants of those who aren’t strong in number. But when given a chance to overcome it scholars must not hesitate to serve just a handful of people. Afterall, the pursuance of knowldge is all about taking small steps towards the bigger picture.