The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years in Palm City, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. This difference in pest damage is best explained by the negligence of Fly-Away."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument stated above is faulty for numerous reasons. Essentially, the evidence offered to argue the main claims of this argument are not as cogent as they appear. Concluding the difference in pest damage is seen because of the negligence of Fly-Away Pest Control Company, is unreasonable. Other alternatives can be explored.

Firstly, the author fails to provide evidence to support that the $20,000 worth of food damage in Palm City was because of the pest control workers at all. It could be possible that Fly-Away had enforced new rules and regulations on the warehouse in Palm City that detailed workers should keep all food away from a certain area for the time the company was providing their services which would ensure food safety. Instead, it could have been the employees of the warehouse that did not follow instructions and stored food in an area that was restricted, in turn resulting in damaged foods. If this were the case, then the reason of food damage was not because of the negligence of the pest control company but the food distribution company itself. On the other hand, if the author presented information that demonstrated no special procedures were in place or if they were then all employees in fact did follow the policies, then the argument would deem to be more plausible. In either case, it is difficult to keep watch on all employees to ensure the food safety regulations were being followed by everyone.

Additionally, the argument neglects to address other issues. Imagine there is a credible method to make sure all employees were following instructions and extra guidelines were in place for food safety, this is not a sufficient amount of evidence to conclude the perceived damage was the pest control company’s fault. So, the arguer continues to speculate other factors are not playing a role in the results. For example, it is mentioned in the memo that only $10,000 worth of food damage occurred in the warehouse in Winterdale. But the argument does not include if the two different locations hold the same amount of food to make a comparison of the cities. There is a possibility that the warehouse in Palm City is bigger than the one in Winterdale and has the capacity to hold more items. This could mean because Winterdale has a smaller warehouse which holds less food items, the food damage to $10,000 worth of food is a bigger loss than the one seen in 20,000, which would render the comparison made of the two warehouses as illogical. However, if the two locations held the same amount of foods then the argument would hold more validity. But even so, other factors are being ignored.

Finally, the arguer does not account for natural causes that could have caused the loss seen in Palm City. For example, if the day that the Palm City warehouse was scheduled to be serviced by the pest control company, was extremely windy, it could have caused the pesticides to have traveled in air to other areas of the warehouse. The pesticide that was displaced could have landed on foods that were placed in faraway areas to keep them safe and this could have damaged the foods. In this case, it was not because the staff of the pest control company were being careless, it’s because the weather had affected their work, which would not be their fault and the argument would be undermined further.

As a result of the various unwarranted presumptions made by the argument, the author is unsuccessful in showing an association between the loss of food and the Fly-Away pest control company.