The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years in Palm City, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following argument is flawed for many reasons. Mainly, the argument is based off the unwarranted assumption that the warehouses in Palm city and Wintervale are the same. This assumption renders its main conclusion that Buzzoff will save their company money invalid.

The argument assumes both warehouses had a similar amount of food, however this may be false. The argument states that in Palm City 20,000 dollars’ worth had been destroyed, whereas in Wintervale only 10,000 dollars were destroyed- assuming more food in Palm City had been demolished. This assumption is not justified however because if the warehouse in Palm City had $100,000 worth of food and only $20,000 had pest damage, that would lead to only 20% being destroyed. On the other hand, in Wintervale if they had $20,000 worth of food and $10,000 worth having pest damage, it would lead to 50% damage and Buzzoff would not save the company more money. Had the argument provided information regarding the initial value of food in the warehouse, a better judgement of savings could be made. And even then the argument would have to further prove how much of the food in each warehouse is susceptible to pest damage.

The argument also assumes that the Palm City environment is similar to Wintervale, however these cities could differ in many ways. Mainly, the environments could differ in the aspect of their weather. Say Palm City is a very hot and humid city, it would then be likely that they are prone to more pests. This would lead to a higher percentage of their food being damaged by pests. On the contrary, if Wintervale is very cold and dry there would be less pests and consequently less food being damaged. If the argument were to state the similarity of weather conditions the argument could be strengthened, at that point the argument would further have to prove the number of pests were also similar.

The argument as well uses ambiguous terms like considerably lower. These terms do not give a clear picture to lead to a strong argument. In the sense of the term considerably lower, Fly-Away could be $10,000 lower than Buzzoff or they could be $500 lower. Had the argument stated the official costs of each service, and the argument combined this cost compared to the percent of food damage then the argument could be reinforced.

This argument had many flaws including not stating the percentage of food that was damaged, the similarity of cities, and the cost of each service. Stating these facts could have strengthened the argument and lead to a clear decision if Buzzoff were to save their company money.