The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years in Palm City, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. This difference in pest damage is best explained by the negligence of Fly-Away."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The vice president of a food distribution company claims that the Fly-Away is negligent in controlling the pests and provides several reasons that seem to uphold his/her claim. However, the memo is rife with holes and assumptions and should be eradicated in order for the vice president to maintain his claim with clear warrant. Such flaws would be discussed further in details below.

First of all, the author of the memo assumes that because $20,000 worth of food had been destroyed due to pests last month, Fly-Away Pest control is not doing their job well. However, only a month of data is not enough to judge whether the company is negligent. Maybe they were presenting their best efforts in controlling the pests and were actually showing good results when a certain change in the environment happened last month and caused extensive number of pests to flourish. The climate could have increased abnormally and pests to increase in it numbers, causing numerous amount of food to get destroyed. Moreover, maybe last month the climate was germane for crops to grow and copious amount of food that are worth a billion dollars were produced. If this is the case, then $20,000 amount of food damage could be considered trivial.

Furthermore, the vice president assumes that because there aren't much food damaged by pests in Wintervale, the same should happen in Palm City. However, they are obviously two different places and cannot be easily compared. Maybe Wintervale is a very cold place and has a harsh environment for pests to thrive, which makes it easier for the Buzzoff to control the pests. Buzzoff may not even be doing their job properly and still gets to escape the critical judgment of the vice president because not many pests can survive the stark environment of Wintervale. Also, the amount of food stored in the storage in Palm City and Wintervale may be very different. There is a possibility that Palm City has much more food stored which makes them to have a higher potential of foods getting infected by the pests. If $20,000 amount of food are damaged by pests among $40,000 worth of food being stored in Palm City and $10,000 worth of food destroyed by pests among $20,000 worth of food being stored Wintervale, then the ratio of the pest damage is the same. This cannot be the cause of the vice president to assume that the pest control company in Palm City is not doing their job properly.

Last but not least, the author assumes that pest control should be prioritized in its emergence. However, there could be various reasons in foods getting damaged. Foods can be destroyed by abnormally hot weather, malfunction of the refrigerator and lack of caution of the workers. Maybe such causes are much more dominant reasons in foods getting destroyed and the proportion of stored food getting damaged by the pests is negligible enough. If this is the case, then the vice president should be looking for ways to solve such problems instead of questioning the negligence of the pest control company.

To sum up, even though the vice president of the food distribution company's claim seems plausible, through thorough investigation and reading the memo from various point of views, it is confirmed that his/her claim is unwarranted. In order for the author of the memo to uphold his/her claim, he/she would have to provide lucid information, not make any haste assumptions, and not compare the two data that are obviously incomparable.