A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

People all have the potential to grow up to become experts in various fields. They all have different talents and characteristics which may be enhanced or diminished through the educations they receive. I believe that the nation should enable students to pursue their own interests instead of forcing them to study the same national curriculum.

First of all, making it mandatory for the students to take the monolithic curriculum would indicate that the nation believes all students should consist the same skills when they become an adult. However, all children are born with different types of talents, such as artistic, scientific, and literary talents. The curriculum should be capable of enhancing their spectacular abilities, instead of forcing them to be good in all studies regardless of their talents. For example, I would like to mention a child who has extraordinary scientific talents but does not consist of any literary talents. If so, forcing him/her to take courses in literary due to having to take the monolithic courses would cause the child to falter in the class. He/she would constantly receive low grades in the literary course, making him/her to eventually start feeling diffident in his/her talent which could also affect in her performance in science classes. On the contrary, if the child had been allowed to take the courses he/she wishes to pursue, it would enable the child to florish in a certain field, making him/her becoming an expert in that area.

Moreover, if the students were required to take the same national curriculums regardless of their interests or talents, it would alter them into having stark personalities. None of the people would be salient in certain fields and would be able to perform similar tasks that are parallel to all the other people. However, for the nation to prosper in various fields and enhance the overall nation's welfare, it needs certain erudite people in each fields. For example, prestigious scientists may develop much more efficient and environment friendly technologies, doctors would be able to cure ill patients and ensure that all the people stay healthy through their lives, and celebrated writers can present novels that helps people stay imaginative or introduce non-fictions that can also educate people. However, if the nation makes it compulsory for children to take the same monolithic courses, it would make it impossible for them to become eminent in certain fields.

Last but not least, it is also necessary to be discerned with the consequences students might face when they were to attend colleges after taking the same curriculum. College is a place where students choose the courses as they desire and enable them to pursue their interests with free will. However, because the students were taught the same courses regardless of their interests and talents, their own will would have diminished and no longer would they remember what they had wished to study. Also, they would have lost the ability to decide for themselves, because they were never taught to decide. In this status, it would be extremely confounding for them to suddenly having to search what they wish to pursue and having to choose courses they would like to take in colleges. The nation would have to allow children to start practicing the ability to decide and let them look for what they would like to pursue as an adult in order to have them prepared for college.

To sum up, forcing the students to take the monolithic curriculum may have malignant consequences, such as nation not being able to flourish due to lack of erudite experts in various fields, students not being ready to attend colleges, and students always being diffident. Due to such reasons, I believe it is consequential for the nation to allow students to take the courses as they wish, instead of making it imperative to take the same national curriculum.