To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Leader's have the power that can affect the society. Being a leader not only indicates making big decisions, it also means having the responsibility to protect his/her people and enabling them to live a proper life. People's lives and welfare depends on the decisions leaders make. Due to this, I believe that the leaders should have high ethical and moral standards unlike the laypersons.

First of all, being a leader requires them to have the ability to consider every single person's welfare and how his/her decision would affect the society. Leaders are chosen based on the people's votes, which indicates that people expect the leader to present policies that helps them live a better life. If the leaders can't provide what the people want, what is the purpose of voting for and having a leader? Leaders should try their best to help people who voted for him/her to eradicate the problems people are facing and enable them to live a better life. This is of course is essential for the nation to prosper, too. People who are well taken care of and are satisfied with their lives also has more time and energy to work industriously and make the nation bloom with happiness and economical success. If the leaders do not have high ethical and moral standards, there is a high possibility of them making decisions only for their selfish minds and taking care of other people's welfare, causing the whole nation to deteriorate.

Furthermore, the decisions leaders make have excessive influence on the society. Leaders have the power to make the nation prosper by helping the country import many goods and making abound profits but also have the power to diminish what the nation has. Such power can be quite compelling and can make one person get easily obsessed with it, causing them to exploit and utilize power in malignant ways. It can be used to satisfy one's selfish purposes without being concerned with other people's welfare. However, for a leader to have strong resistance towards such power, he/she would have to have ethical and moral standards unlike any other layperson. There is one example I would like to present, who didn't have high moral standards and exploited power to pursue his/her morbid needs, Hitler. Hitler caused many macabre slaughters and tried to exterminate certain races with the power of a leader. If he had certain degree of moral standards, he would not have ordered such malignant decisions and could have actually utilized his power to do better goods for the society.

To sum up, being a leader and having the power to influence the society can easily obscure the leader's minds and make them become selfish and use the power to pursue his/her malady minds. Also, as they are chosen to be leader based on people's expectations, helping people to live a better life, they should try to meet such expectations. Which is why leaders require certain degree of ethical and moral standards, in order to have strong resistance towards exploiting power and precluding themselves from impairing the people and the nation.