Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As technology advanced, developments such as movies and television have emerged. While some may say that such development is beneficial for young people because it provides them a certain amount of entertainment, I believe it has several downsides for young people. The reason to why I believe in such way will be elaborated in more First of all, young people are susceptible to getting addicted to movies and television. Because young people are still in the process of developing resistance to attractions, they get compelled easily to things that provide them entertainment. While some might question why is this a wrong thing, the effect could be quite detrimental because it interferes with their development in social skills. Honing social ability is a cumbersome process because they have to learn how to effectively communicate and build a relationship with other people through multiple failures and success. Because it is painstaking, children who have been exposed to the magical world presented in the movies and television, where everything seems perfect, they tend to turn their backs on the outside reality. As time passes, they would gradually give up in making friends and would rather watch movies and television, leading them to becoming a potatoe couch even when they are old.

Furthermore, movies and television may contain inappropriate elements such as violence and drug use, which may affect the development of young people in a negative way. Similar to the reason mentioned above, young people have not fully developed their perspective and are flexible to accepting new ideas. Watching movies and television would increase the possibility for them to be exposed to inappropriate contents, causing them to think that it is okay to behave in such way. It has been scientifically proven that children who have been exposed to contents that contain violence and drug use tend to be more aggressive and have a potential of being addicted to drugs as they get older without acknowledging that it is a wrong behavior to pursue.

To sum up, movies and television can compel children to get addicted to it, inhibiting them from developing social skill, and providing wrong ideas to pursue certain behaviors that are not accepatable. Due to such reasons, I believe that movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects to young people.