The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The firm claims that the client should invest on Consolidated Industries because the demand for heating oil would increase, and presents several reasons that seem to uphold his/her claim. However, the letter is rife with holes and assumptions which needs to be eliminated in order for the firm to maintain his claim with clear warrant. Such flaws would be discussed with further details below.

First of all, the firm reasons that the client should investigate in Consolidated Industries because the climate forecaster predicted that the current abnormal weather pattern would continue for several more years. However, experiencing below-normal temperature for only a year is not enough data to be representative for weather pattern in future years. Because this year's weather had been abnormal, it could go back to being normal in the future, or, maybe the weather would turn out to be abnormally hot next year. If so, then the demand for heating oil would not increase which makes the recommendation of the firm to be premature.

Furthermore, the author of the letter assumes that people in the northeastern United States would still be using heating oil as a major fuel because it is traditional. However, tradition can always change if there is a modernized technology that is much more enticing to people. Especially, there are many alternative energy sources that replace heating oil nowadays, as there are multiple scientific research that concludes that heating oil is lethal to the environment. Maybe people in this region are discerned with preserving the environment and is using solar energy because it has been proven to be much more economical and environment friendly. The firm should not easily assume that the people in northeastern United States would still be using heating oil as a major fuel just because it is conventional.

Last but not least, the firm assumes that due to recent population growth, more homes are being built which would lead to increased demand of heating oil. However, population growth does not always indicate increase in number of families. Maybe more babies have been reproduced and the number of families maintains the current state. There is also a possibility that the increase in home construction is for rich people, who live in different regions and are simply buying multiple homes even though they do not pursue to live in northeastern United States. If these are the cases, then assuming that there would be increased demand in heating oil would be a haste assumption.

To sum up, even though the author of the letter's claim seems plausible and the evidences that are presented seem to uphold his/her claim, through thorough investigation and reading the letter from various points of view, it is confirmed that his/her claim does not have clear warrant. The firm would have to eliminate the mistakes of making haste assumptions and using unrepresentative data.