The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment building to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads on the first five floors of Sunnyside Towers were modified to restrict the water flow to approximately one-third of its original flow. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, restricting water flow throughout all the twenty floors of Sunnyside Towers will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author in the letter concludes that restricting the water flow to approximately one-third of its original flow is germane and would be more lucrative than before. However, the owner of the apartment building makes several critical flaws which will be discussed below in detail. For such claim to be perceived plausible, the author would have to eliminate such problems.

First of all, the author claims that it is okay to restrict the water flow of the other floors because there were only few complaints about the change of the water pressure. However, the reason there were trivial amount of complaints could be because the tenants simply moved out without complaining about it. Or else, they could be getting prepared of moving out if the low water pressure problem is not solved without filing a complaint. Furthermore, the author needs clarify the number of complaints to claim that there were only a few. If there are in total 5 residents living in the building and had three complaints, even though the three complaints seem a frivolous amount, considering the total number of residents, the complaints are actually coming from majority of the residents.

In addition, since the actual readings of water usage is not available, it is wrong for the author to contend that the change of water flow will result in increase in profits. Even though the water flow declined, the residents could have been using the water longer than before which would actually be the same amount of water being used from before. The author should have verified information to use such reason to claim that it is more profitable to restrict the water flow.

Most importantly, the author makes a mistake of overgeneralization. Even if the water usage decreased in the first five floors of the building, this does not mean that it would be the same for the other floors. The other fifteen floors of the building could use a lot more water after the change has been adjusted. The residents of the first five floors could have been benign enough to understand the reason why the owner cut off the water flow, however, the other residents may not be okay with the change. Also, the complaints could increase excessively among the other fifteen floors after the restriction has been made.

The letter may seem plausible at first sight, however, with thorough investigation and observing the letter in various point of views, it does not stand a chance of plausibility. For the author to further contend such claim, he/she should clarify the veracity of the information, not make a mistake of overgeneralization, and provide sufficient information. Due to such reasons, the assertion that restricting the water flow throughout the building would lead to more profit does not seem germane.