Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

12:10

Media scrutiny can affect one's reputation in many ways. The criteria that upholds someone as a hero is stark than ever since people from all around the world now has the power to criticize someone's actions. However, one thing people perceive very highly of has never changed and that is those who love and adore other people's lives. When we see the news or watch clips of videos that are phenomenal in the media, there are usually people who risk their own lives to save others who are on the verge of living or dying. So I would like to claim that media scrutiny can affect negatively in one's reputation, but because the requirements are full of stark and dull criticism, people who show affection towards others can easily diminish the media's cold mind and be perceived as a hero.

First of all, yes, in some aspects, scrutiny of the media can diminish one's reputation and is no longer viable to be regarded as a hero. For example, people who are publicly well-known should always be cautious of their actions. They have to be discreet in making jokes or when conversing because otherwise, they can be called a racist, sexist, or even a psychopath. People are imperfect but because people who consume the others' lives on media are imperfect, they want those who are shown on media to be perfect. If this goes on for those who are publicly known, they will eventually lose their reputation, their perspective, and even their own will to think or act because they can no longer act or think as they want which will to lead a diminish of one's reputation.

However, those who were not publicly known can rise up as a hero with one happening with the media's help, those who saved others' lives when no one else were too afraid to do so. Because saving someone's life is a very instinctive action but is also very rare to show such braveness to a stranger, media bolsters their action and make their reputation be higher than ever. Also, even when one's reputation has been diminished by the scrutiny of the media, once media sheds a light about their selfless actions, one's diminished reputation can rise up to the surface again.

To sum up, media's scrutiny is very harsh and people who make one flaw and does not meet the requirements may catapult to the low bottom and have their reputation diminished. However, that does not mean that they will stay at the bottom forever. Once those who show selfless actions and show people that they are trying hard to become a better person, the scrutiny would be long gone and the media would once again shed light upon them. Also, people who have never been on media can also benefit from the scrutiny, as mentioned above, those who shows love and affection towards others' lives when it can cause death to themselves.