The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two different regions. The buildings were erected by two different construction companies — Alpha and Zeta. Even though the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build, and its expenses for maintenance last year were twice those of the building constructed by Alpha. Furthermore, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been higher than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Such data, plus the fact that Alpha has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, indicate that we should use Alpha rather than Zeta for our contemplated new building project."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memo of vice president of highly diversified company, the author concludes based on a specific assumptions and facts that the Zeta building project should be used as an example for future new building projects. However, conclusion based on these assumptions, if not substantiated, will dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

Firstly, author states that the building cost of the Zeta project was higher than the Alpha one even though they had similar floor plan. Perhaps this cost diffirence could be attributed to the different geophysical and environmental conditions. There is the possibility that the Zeta building was constructed in high-seismical activity region, which in sense will make construction more expensive than if it was purposed to build in a stable region. In order to make building more resistant to the seismic activity more material is needed, and it additionally burdens the budget. As seen from the above passage, the cost difference could be atributed to other essential factors and comparing these buildings on the money scale will significantly reduce persuasiveness of the author’s contention.

Secondly, author presumes that the increasing energy consumption of the Zeta building comparing to the Alpha indicates inefficiency of the office itself. However, this may not be the case. It could be potentially attributed to the fact that the workers in the Zeta headquarter are staying late and actively accomplishing companies quarterly goals. If author would look closer to the KPI of both office employees, he/she could probably see that the two indexes are significantly different, with Zetas being higher than Alphas one. If the above scenarios has the merit, then the authors conclusion is based on the cursory analysis of the situation.

Finaly, author asumes that stable workforce and little rate of turnover are because of the building itself not because of the other factors. Perhaps, this trend in the workforce could be ascribed to the company managers that are working in the Alpha headquartes, or it could be attributed to the regional trend where most of the employers prefer to have little rate of turnover. In that instance, using the Alpha building project as the exemplary for the upcoming construction projects, will contribute little to no effect on the employees turnover rate or the stability of the personnel.

In conclusion, it’s possible that using Alpha’s building as the example for the future constructions ,that the company intends to do, will have advances comparing to the Zeta project. However, as it stands now, the argument relies on three unfounded assumptions that render its conclusion unpersuasive at the best and specious at worst. Thus, the author needs to provide additional evidence on three fronts: whether the geophysical conditions are different in those two regions, the productivity indexes of both headquarters, and whether the Alpha’s employee trend could be ascribed to the building itself.