The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies—Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. Furthermore, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Such data indicate that we should use Zeta rather than Alpha for our contemplated new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memo, the vice precident argues that the company should use Zeta rather than Alpha for their new building project to save the construction costs. He supplements his argument with the assumption that the . The argument seems convincing at first; however, the lack of evidence leads readers to conclude that the argument is flawed on many grounds.

To begin with, the vice president should provide more concrete evidence that the inherent conditions between the places where the buildings are built by Alpha and Zeta are similar. For example, it is possible that the Alpha building is located at the city with high tax rates, rendering the maintenance expenses of the building larger than that of the Zeta building. In addition, regarding the energy consumption rate, it is also possible that the number of workers are smaller for the Zeta building than for the Alpha building. In these cases, if the new building is prospected to be construected in the city with lower tax rate and have way smaller number of employees than that of Zeta and Alpha building, the consturction with Alpha than Zeta will likely to allow them to scrimp their budget. Therefore, the author should provide more concrete evidence regarding the inherent conditions between the construction sites.

Furthermore, more concrete pieces of evidence are needed on whether the current difference will last in the long run. This is because It is possible that the current situation, that the energy consumption and the maintenance costs of the Zeta building is lower than those of the Alpha building, might be an aberration. For example, it is plausible that the city where the Alpha building is built is suffering from the abnormal dust problem that will be resolve in the nearest future, forcing the Alpha building to temporarily turn on air cleaners and concomitantly raising the energy consumption rate of the Alpha building. In addition, it is also possible that the incresed maintenance expense for the Alpha building is just temporarily caused by an adverse economy and might decrease in the long run. Thus, the author should provide more information regarding the long-term tendency of the current siduation.

Finally, the vice president should provide cogent evidence that the benefits of Zeta building overrides those of Alpha building. If the Zeta building has less amenities for the employees, for example, It is possible that the work efficiency of the workers in the Zeta building is substantially lower than that of those in the Alpha building. This can make the overall benefits of the Alpha building higher than that of the Zeta building, since the higher working efficiency can contribute to increasing the overall profits of the company. In addition, it is also worth noting that the author did not provide the exact magnitude of the expense. For example, if the diffence in the expenses of the Zeta and Alpha buildings are marginal, the pros of the Zeta building regarding the maintenance costs will not be sufficiently substantial to offset the pros of the Alpha building regarding the construction costs. To elaborate the argument, the author should prodive more detailed information about the costs and benefits of the Alpha and Zeta buildings.

In short, the vice president's argument is not persuasive on many grounds. In order to bolster the argument, the author should provide more evidence that the inherent conditions of the construction sites are similar, the current tendency will remain the same in the long run, and the overall benefits of the Zeta building override that of the Alpha building.