The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc.

"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Based on the recent study of customers, the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc. conclude that the company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, and could increase profits by discontinuing use of the process. Although the inference seems logical, the argument is rife with holes and assumptions, not strong enough to lead to the conclusion the vice president wants. Following problems serve to undermine the argument.

First and foremost, the argument presents the evidence that given the new study our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Based on the study, the vice president suggests that given the high frequency of purchase, durability of socks, as well as the Endure process, is not necessary, even helpful, to the Dura-Sock business. However, the vice president is falling to consider other possible alternatives. It is possible that the reason why customers buys new socks is that they want more socks but not that they throw away their old ones, which means durability of socks is still necessary. To strengthen the argument, the vice president would benefit from implementing an elaborative survey asking customers how many socks they own and when they will abandon their old socks.

The vice president demonstrates the survey about customers in the largest market, northeastern United States cities, of the company, showing they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. It seems that, since customers from northeastern cities prefer more styles and colors, the durability is no longer important. Yet the vice president demonstrates falls to take into consideration that the opposite may be true as well. Actually, though northeastern United States cities are the largest market of the company, customers from there could be only a small part of the entire market. Maybe most of customers enjoy the durability of socks other that styles and colors. Unless the proportion between the number of customers and cities is valid and reliable, it cannot be used to effectively back the argument.

In a nut shell, although at first the argument proposed by the vice president seems cogent and convincing, there are several gaps in the reasoning. In consideration of the fact given, some alternative possibilities are plausible as well. The vice president falls to adequately support the interference presented in the argument. To validate the argument, the vice president would need more information about details of socks of customers and proportion between the number of customers and cities.