The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc."A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which e

In the memo, the vice president asserts that the company can increase its profits by discontinuing the use of the Endure manufacturing process, rather use of Dura-Socks, Inc. Although the argument seems convincing at first, the lack of evidence leads me to question its validity.

First, the assumption of the vice president that Endure's durability is not considered to purchase for customers is unsound. It is undeniable that their average customer purchases new Dura-Socks every three months; however, the fact does not indicate other preferences from all customers. Despite average customers prefer new Dura-Socks, the number of purchases could be negligible. It is possible that a small number of customers would buy bigger amounts of socks than average customers because they are satisfied with the durability of Endure. If it is true, the purchases of the average customer cannot be less important for the company. Additionally, upcoming and potential customers may prefer to Endure's durability over the Dura-Socks. Thus, he needs to provide more evidence to estimate the assumptions' veracity.

Second, the vice president presumes that the result from one market can be sound enough to support his argument. Even though their customers in their largest market responded that Dura-Socks' appearance and various colors are most valuable, it cannot indicate that they will purchase these Dura-Socks in the real situation. It is plausible that they like these stylish socks but choose durable socks when they decide to buy. Even if the respondents will purchase Dura-Socks really, the trends of northeastern United States cities cannot be generalized to all their markets in other regions. It is necessary to expand the survey to more markets to buttress his argument.

Lastly, the vice president predicts that the company's profits will increase when they discontinue using the Endure process. However, the profit is complex because it is influenced by many factors such as the location and skills of employees. He hastily concludes the Dura-Socks is the only factor to improve its profits. Therefore, his assumption of increasing profits by the Dura-Socks is unproved with limited information.

In conclusion, the argument regarding stopping to use of the Endure manufacturing process is unpersuadable in many aspects. To bolster the argument, the vice president should provide more sound information.