Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In

It is debatable whether contemporary people are more prudent than ancient people. In this regard, I disagree with the statement that knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today. This is because the past lessons can lead people to decide their behavior with insight and proved experiences.

Admittedly, it might be difficult to make important decision nowadays because many things are more complex in today than in the past. Recently due to technological development, life style has been changed in many fields. For example, Park Geun-hye, a former President in South Korea, was impeached because she had used public budgets as privately. Even though in the past there were some cases that former Presidents appropriated public budgets like President Park, and citizens have learned about the history, no one could predict the illegal behavior of her. This is because the main key to allow her to infringe upon laws was a tablet PC which was used to communicate with her accomplice. These technological advances might hamper people to monitor their President.

However, in many cases, the past lessons are significantly helpful to overcome current problems. In economic issue, it is important and useful to analyze a certain pattern which reported from the past so that economists and policy makers can make decisions by predicting results. For example, Barack Obama, a former President in the United States, faced an economic crisis in 2008. Even though the embarrassing situation, President Obama led the States successfully to overcome the crisis by taking lessons which President Franklin D. Roosevelt provided. Because of the history, Obama was able to discern that the crisis is similar with the previous crisis, the Great Depression which Roosevelt resolved. Thus, to acquire knowledge from the past is beneficial to carry out(?) better situations.

Moreover, even if today's issues are more complicated than before in some aspects, people are easily influenced from the past issues. Martin Luther King, Jr.'s non-violence movement is a good example to demonstrate the argument. In the 1960s, King contended to provide freedom for all African American without any violence. Since he was deeply impressed from the previous non-violence movement of Gandhi, he decided to choose the similar way to require the freedom successfully. Therefore, knowing about the past gives more opportunities to take better decision and achievements.

To sum up, although, in some cases, the previous events seems unapplied to current ones, there are many merits to be provided from the past. People can get more valuable lessons and impression to decide today.