When Stanley Park first opened, it was the largest, most heavily used public park in town. It is still the largest park, but it is no longer heavily used. Video cameras mounted in the park's parking lots last month revealed the par

In the above statement, the author asserts that Stanley Park should provide more benches and places for socializing to be as popular with their citizens as Carlton Park. Although the argument seems convincing at first, the unwarranted assumption leads me to question its validity.

To begin with, the author assumes that popularity of Stanley Park is decrease because there were only 50 cars per day in average last month. However, the cameras recordings may indicate the phenomenon is not adverse. It is possible that the trend of last month is an abnormal situation. Most of residents might visit other cities as their summer vacation. Even if it was not the season of vacation, people may come to the Park not via personal cars which are required to use parking lots but by transportaions such as buses and subways, or even by foots. In this case, the assumption which people do not use the Park heavily more is not true.

Moreover, second assumption the author makes is that the total popularity of Carlton Park is higher than of Stanley Park. It is undeniable that more than 150 people on Monday to Friday visit Carlton Park; however, the statistics does not show the number of visitors of Carlton Park on weekend. Because Carlton Park is located in the main of the business places, lots of businessmen can come to the Park after finishing their work during weekdays. However, they might not visit the Park on holidays. It means, Carlton Park may not have more popularities than Stanley Park.

Lastly third assumption he suggests is that Stanley Park should follow as Carlton Park to be more popular than now. He adamantly believes that the main reason of attracting visitors is providing benches. Even though Carlton Park gets benefits from many seats, it would not induce the same effect to Stanley Park too. He should consider innate characteristics between two parks. Additionally, there might exist other factors to capture visitors to come to Carlton Park. If it is true, more benches are useless to increase visitor in Stanley Park.

In conclusion, the author's argument regarding main factors to make Stanley Park be more popular is unconvincing in many aspects. To bolster the argument, he needs to provide more information to predict the effectiveness of changes precisely.