The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals."One year ago we introduced our first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-se

In the memo, the director recommends that Bargain Brand Cereals should expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible. Although the recommendation seems convincing at first, the lack of evidence leads me to question its validity.

First, the director needs to answer the question of whether the increasing customers are significant phenomenon in the long-run. He assumes that there are many customers who are derived from their low prices; however, it is possible that the number of customers increases temporarily at the first year. Customers also might turn their preference for the new product to original ones in the long-run. They might not buy the new cereals for the next year because they are not satisfied with the products as a whole. Thus, the author is required to give more evidence to answer the question. Without solid evidence, it is difficult to agree with his assumption that low-prices will attract many customers as they have done for one year.

Second, the director should answer the question of whether attempts of top-selling companies can be neglected. Since the companies have tried to compete with the Bargain Brand Cereals by lowering their prices and other plans, the author should consider their efforts which may be overriding the pie of cereal-markets of the author's brand. There are high chances that the competitive companies will more succeed to sell their cereal. In addition, he believes that they can get benefits from persistent low-prices; however, the company might fail to be profitable because low prices could not yield higher revenues. Therefore, he has to answer these questions to recommend surely.

Lastly, more information to answer these questions are needed. It is undeniable that the brand has succeeded to drive more customer than before; however, what if the main reason of the result is not the low-prices but other factors such as its favorable tastes and advertisement strategies. The success of the food cannot guarantee that other success of expanded business with the same strategies. In this case, the strategies might not lead to equal results when applied to other products. Also, he should ask that it is proper time to expand its business at now. The current business might not be stable enough to begin expanding business. Furthermore, its expanded business will be successful. Therefore, unless he answers these questions, it is unreasonable to continue to its low-prices-strategy to other foods.

In conclusion, the recommend regarding taking the low-prices persistently is unpersuadable in many aspects. To bolster the recommend, he needs to provide more valid evidence and then answer these questions.