Ten years ago,as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program,the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway.Subsequently,several factories were constructed there,crime rates in the area declined,and property tax revenues for the entire city increased.To further revitalize the city,we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city.Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied,alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available.

The author of this proposal to adapt a declining residential area of the city of Transopolis for industrial use in order to further revitalize the city offers an interesting argument given the experience that near the freeway similar action brought declining crime rates and increased property tax revenues for the entire city. Although the proposal seems logical, the argument is rife with holes and assumptions, not strong enough to lead to the action the author wants. Following problems serve to undermine the argument.

The author reports a large area of severely substandard housing near the way which was adapted for industrial use ten years ago, and attributes the subsequent improved situation to the adoption. However, the author is falling to consider other possible alternatives to the constructed factories, declined crime rates and property tax revenues. It is possible that the economic situation of the entire city was improved ten year ago, which could attract more investment to construct more factories and consequently create more property tax revenues for the entire city. In addition, it could be the remarkable work of admirable police of the city of Transopolis that declined crime rates of the area, but not the adoption. The author must rule out all these possibilities to conclude that it is the adaption for industrial use that results in the later economic and social improvements.

Based on the assumption that the similar action could work in the city of Transopolis again, the author proposes to adapt a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. If the adaption the author presents now could have internal factors and external conditions that is consistent with the old adaption, maybe the argument would have merit. Nevertheless, the investment climate for factory construction now could totally differ with what it was ten years ago, as well as the environment of city public security, which could generate a totally different outcome of the new adaption in the new area. In addition, it is possible that the new area hardly have enough skilled labor force and appropriate location as the area near the freeway did. In short, similar actions in different places at different times could have widely divergent consequences.

In a nutshell, the author fails to adequately support the proposal to adapt a declining residential area for industrial use in the argument. To strengthen the argument, the author must provide more convincing evidence to validate causal relationship the adaption ten years ago and the subsequent economic and social improvements, and to prove that similar adaption could cause similar improvements.