The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis.

"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transpolis, it is mentioned that the revitalization of the city can be done by adopting the method which was successful in past- 10 years ago. The author made the assertion based on the evidence of the past on one side of the city. The argument superficially might seem plausible, however, in deep pondering the argument is rife with groundless assumption and the evidence provided are inadequate to check the viability of the claim.

Firstly, the author believes that the condition of the city in the past and as of now are similar. In other words, the locations are exactly comparable in all aspects which might not be the case. For instance, the industries available might be sufficient enough to fulfill the demand of the population of the city. Also, the labour needed for the industries might not be adequate to operate in the present days as the available might have been already used up. If any of the situations hold true, then the establishment of the industries will have repercussions only and eventually hamper the overall the economy of the city.

Similarly, even if both part of the cities are likely to have same structure in terms of geography and population, it is uncertain that the conditions of the past can be replicated in the mentioned manner. For instance, we cannot be sure that the situation can be repeated as the technological advancement and modernization plays great role in the industrilization. The industries that were suitable in the past can be of no use today. In other words, consider the fashion and trend of the youths in the past and present, are they have same style? Of course not. So, the industries that were producing the clothes and fashionable garment pieces now can be invaluable. If any of the above have merit, then the argument as a whole doesn't hold water.

Furthermore, what are the reasons for abandoning the houses in the city? Is the are prone to disaster? For instance, if the area is vulnerable to the natural disaster like flooding and get flooded in the rainy season, then it would be the absurd idea to establish the industries and try to replicate the success in the past. So, further evidience are required regarding the area prior to making contention.

In sum, the argument relies on numerous unwarranted assumptions and the evidence provided are insufficient; therefore, the further information in the form of systematic research needs to be provided in order to analyze the workability of the author claim.