The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Socks, Inc.

"A recent study of Dura-Socks customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite the socks' durability, our customers, on average, actually purchase new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, customers surveyed in our largest market—northeastern United States cities—say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura Socks Inc., the vice president suggests that the company should discontinue the use of the Endure manufacturing process and in doing so he concludes that the profit of the company will increase. However, the arguments that the author highlights to support his claim is dubious. The author has overlooked numerous questions which needs to be answered before implementing the recommendation.

To support his claim of discontinuing the Endure manufacturing process, the author cites the example from a study which has shown that customers purchase new Dura Socks every three months despite the durability of the socks. Here the author has fallaciously assumed that with the purchase of new socks the customers no longer use the old socks and discard them. However, the author has provided no proof to support this assumption. It could be possible that the customers use both the new and old socks. Also, the author does not clarify what kind of people took part in this survey. Are they sportsmen who are heavy socks users and hence frequently need to replace their old socks? Or are they women who need to buy socks for their children and have more than one child for whom to she purchases the socks? Unless we know what kind of people participated in the survey and what population they represent it would be erroneous to assume that all customers of Dura Socks buy new socks every three months and do not use the old socks even if their condition is good.

The author also cites another survey, conducted in the northeastern United States cities, where participants said that they value the stylish appearance and colors of the socks and hence the vice president is of the opinion that the Endure manufacturing process can be discontinued. However, the author has failed to account for the rest of customers of Dura Socks present throughout United States. What is their opinion? Do they value the look of the socks or their longevity? Additionally, what is the contribution of the rest of United States to the total sales of Dura Socks? If this percentage is greater than what is obtained from the northeastern cities alone and if this population favor the longevity of the socks, then discontinuing the Endure process will have detrimental effects on the profit of the company. The author has given no proof to negate such a possibility.

Lastly, it is evident from the passage that the Endure process is a unique characteristics of Dura Socks. Thus, before the company takes a drastic step of discontinuing the process it is necessary to take a nationwide survey to indicate that if the process is discontinued the number of customers will not decrease. Furthermore, if the process is discontinued, it might be easier to manufacture counterfeit socks of the company and this will have additional detrimental effect on the sales of the company. Such a point has to be considered before implementing the discontinuation of the manufacturing process.

Under the conditions discussed above, it is unlikely that discontinuing the Endure process will increase the profits of Dura Socks Inc. On the contrary the effects may well be reversed and the company might run into losses. Therefore, before the decision of discontinuing the technique is implemented the company should conduct rigorous countrywide surveys to be sure that the sales of the product will not decrease due to such a decision.