The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

“During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of Quiot Manufacturing concerns that the job accidents increased 30 percent more than Panoply Industries in the past year. The management states that to cut one labor hour in Panoply could deduct the job accidents. Also in the memo, he mentions the experts' ideas about the negative effects of workers sleep deprivation on the job environment. This memo has a few assumptions that are not logically convincing.

Firstly, this memo doesn’t express complete and enough information about Panoply. Without having relative data, the manager can’t compare two companies correctly. The manager needs to know about the total number of personnel in Panoply, especially the accurate details of the number of product staff because they are usually more involved in work-related accidents on the product line. If the number of workers is lower, then reducing work hours is probably not an acceptable solution to reduce workplace accidents.

Secondly, Industrial accidents are also due to various plant utilization. The companies provide an advanced manufacturing environment covered a range of topics: master production scheduling, self-security of workers and improvement in job skills. Based on the reduction of one hour of work in the Panoply, it is not possible to conclude that the number of work accidents has decreased. May be at Panoply the public awareness of property, plant and equipment security are vital issues, as workers always learn the necessary skills to work with machines. Therefore proper training is likely to reduce careless and increase their concentration. They try to use machinery professionally, so they are often aware of dangerous ahead of them and prevent accidents.

This memo states the experts says that great contributing reason in many on-the-job accidents are exhaustion and sleep deprivation among workers, so the company should reduce working hours by one hour and that employees have enough time to sleep. If the company allows employees to sleep instead of working for one hour, what is the guarantee that employees will take time off to sleep. Sleeping may not solve the problem of accidents at work and is not a convenient protective method. On the other hand, some employees may have a mental illness: lack of proper learning of equipment, poor memory, lack of confidence in the workplace and other psychological issues related to their work environment. They need to see a psychiatrist at least one hour a week instead of sleeping one hour in their shift work.

In conclusion, being aware of the conditions and how safety equipment should be used by-product workers is an important factor in preventing accidents at work. So the vice president of Quiot Manufacturing should assess product conditions if the company doesn't passes advanced equipment, so he should allocates funding to buy protective equipment and training of workers in the workplace.