The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the author of this memo, he is complaining about l on-job accidents due to the longer working hours. In Quiot Manufacturing. He is supporting his statement by comparing the incident with another industry called “Panoply Industries plant” where shifting hours are slightly better than this primary Manufacturing company. To analyse this, I have two questions that should be made clear.

First of all, The author is assuming that workers of both the companies(Manufacture&Industries respectively) do the same work. So, are they doing the same work? May be workers of both the entities have different works. That means Panoply - workers may have work, which is a lot safer than the Quiot workers. However this doesn’t mean that longer working hours means more the production. Because if workers had enough time to sleep and recovery, production will be more efficient. According to research a human body needs recovery (sleep) so that body functions are well and good ,so no recovery means damaging our won functions thereby causing production delay.

Second of all, Author of this memo is assuming that lesser the working hours means more efficiently work is done. There no proper evidence of first assumption, although rest is necessary. But there is no evidence of “ Lesser the shifts the more the production” he is supporting this by comparing it to another industries working hours. Which might be a flaw.

And the author is concluding that to reduce number of shifts so workers can get enough sleep. But with the assumptions made for this conclusions is a flaw.

In my conclusion the argument is flawed due to its reliance on unwanted assumptions made , if the author is able to provide answers to the above questions and offer more evidence. Then there is a chance of strongly agreeing to this argument.