The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Compared to nearby Panoply Industries plant, Quiot Manufacturing had more on-the-job accidents and working hours than the other company so as to make workers fatigue and sleep deprivation. In order to reduce the accident and improve productivity, the author recommends the company decreasing a working hour every day. However, several assumptions in the argument need to be addressed to make the suggestion more convincing.

An assumption here is that Panoply Industries plant is analogous with Quiot Manufacturing. Nevertheless, the author fails to consider some possible differences between Panoply Industries plant and Quiot Manufacturing that might help to bring other possible dissimilarities. For example, Quiot Manufacturing could be a high-risk industry such as chemical engineering, and lots of chemical components contacting skin would deal a burning effect. In contrast, Panoply Industries plant could be a common factory just doing car repair, so the risk of on-the-job accidents during the work cannot compare to Quiot Manufacturing. Therefore, the author needs to provide the background information of these companies to help us determine that Panoply Industries plant is analogous with Quiot Manufacturing.

The author claims that reducing working hours would decrease on-the-job accidents. Nonetheless, what is the exact working hours for each work shift, five hours, 8 hours, or 11 hours? The shorter the working hours are, the less effective the policy of reducing working hours is. It is difficult for people working five hours a day to feel fatigued during work, so working four hours a day may not help decrease on-the-job accidents. In contrast, working 11 hours a day would make workers get tired so as to increase the rate of on-the-job accidents happening, so the policy of reducing the working hour may get a good effect.

The author also claims that reducing working hours would increase productivity. Still, a correlation between reducing working hours and increasing productivity does not necessarily infer a causal relation. It is entirely possible that shortening working hours would decrease productivity, because workers in this factory want to earn more money with much more works so as to take care of their family, especially for the worker living with poverty. Or maybe they do not want to go home earlier so as to avoid confliction, because the relationship among the whole family is poor, and the policy of reducing working hour would make them face this problem much more than before which may decrease productivity during the work, because they have to consider how to deal with the confliction after backing home.

In conclusion, the author needs to address the assumptions as above mentioned to strengthen the argument, including the background information of these two companies and the relation among reducing working hours, decreasing on-the-job accidents, and increasing productivity.