The following appeared in a memorandum from a dean at Omega University.

Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.’

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of this proposal to enable Omega university graduates secure better jobs offers an argument but to move forward on the proposal would require more information and thought. This author’s argument doesn’t make a cogent case for terminate student evaluation of professors. There may be hidden factors that dean doesn’t estimate.

Firstly, the author fails to mention the nature of the evaluation procedure is obligatory or voluntary. Furthermore no evidence about the number of Omega students who participate in the procedure haven’t provided by the dean. Lacking such evidence is entirely possible that those numbers are insignificant; in which case terminating the procedure is unlikely to have any effect on the grade average of students. Moreover the author implies that professors gave the students higher grades due to get better evaluation from students. However, the increase in grades could have been due to the increased efforts by the professors to get better evaluation. Such evidence would tend to weaken the argument.

Secondly, the argument claims without warrant that held what true fifteen years ago will hold true today. It might be possible that Omega University’s newly enrolled students are brighter than previous year students which eventually cause the increase in the grades. In addition, if there are changes in exam pattern which are favorable for students to perform well, then students must get higher grades. Unless the students don’t alter within the years, terminating the evaluation cannot be used to effectively back the author’s argument.

Even if the evaluation procedure has resulted in grade inflation at Omega, the dean’s claim that grade inflation explains why Omega graduates are less successful than Alpha graduate in getting job is unjustified. Perhaps Alpha’s circumstance correlative job skills, or there are some workshops that prepare students for job market. Likewise perhaps Alpha University has effectively communication with job market and employer. In short, without consider other factors that might contribute to lack of success in getting jobs, the dean cannot conclude that if Omega curbs its grades inflation employers will be more likely to hire Omega graduates. Regardless of whether getting better job for graduates is accessible or not, the author doesn’t effectively show a connection between deflated grades and getting secure better job.

Finally, even if the dean substantiates all of the foregoing assumptions, the dean’s assertion that Omega must terminate its valuation procedure to enable its graduation to find better secure jobs are still unwarranted. Because the dean doesn’t provide any criteria to estimate the mean of ‘better secure jobs’. Is it mean to just get more job placements or high salary works? And how we should compare the outcomes of Omega and Alpha University?

Examining all various angles and factors involved with improving inflated grades, the argument does not justify terminating the evaluation. While the proposal does highlight a possibility, more information is required to warrant any action.