The following appeared in a memorandum from the general manager of KNOW radio station.

"Several factors indicate that radio station KNOW should shift its programming from rock-and-roll music to a continuous news format. Consider, for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fifty years of age has increased dramatically, while our total number of listeners has declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of recorded music. Finally, continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful. The switch from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will attract older listeners and secure KNOW radio's future."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

The general manager of KNOW radio station suggests that the radio station KNOW should shift its base from rock-and-roll music to a continuous news format in order to attract its lost older listeners and secure KNOW radio’s future. However, I find the argument logically unconvincing in several aspects.

Firstly the author claims that the reduction in listeners of the radio station is due to the fact that there are more number of people above fifty years of age. This theory seems to overlook the fact that it is not necessarily important that senior people are more interested in listening to radio stations instead of rock-and-roll music. Hence the author has created a weak stereotype mentioning an illogical analogy between increase in number of people above fifty years of age and loss of interest in rock-and-roll music.

Secondly, it is assumed that the decrease in the sales of the music in the music stores will greatly influence the reduction in the no of audience of KNOW radio station. However, there may be some other reasons for less number of sales in the music stores for example the music copies sold in these stores could be highly expensive, bad quality of music copies or there may be less collection of music’s in these stores failing to attract more number of audience. Hence we cannot jump to hasty conclusion of shifting KNOW radio station’s base from rock-and-roll music to continuous news channel.

Finally, the general manager thinks that continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful and so shifting the station’s programming to news format will attract older listeners and secure KNOW radio's future. But we cannot count on this unnecessity assumption as there can be various reasons why the continuous news stations in neighboring cities are successful like they may have better business/promotion plan.

In order to make his point stronger, the manager needs to reinforce/ prove with data as of why its total no of listeners of rock-and roll music has been declined. This will make the argument stronger.

However, with the given assumptions, the argument is ill-considered and fallacious. In conclusion, the manager’s recommendation of shifting to continuous news format for the betterment of the KNOW radio station lends little credible support to his claim.