The following appeared in a memorandum issued by a large city’s council on the arts:

“In a recent citywide poll, 15 percent more residents said that they watch television programs about the visual arts than was the case in a poll conducted five years ago. During these past five years, the number of people visiting our city’s art museums has increased by a similar percentage. Since the corporate funding that supports public television, where most of the visual arts programs appear, is now being threatened with severe cuts, we can expect that attendance at our city’s art museums will also start to decrease. Thus some of the city’s funds for supporting the arts should be reallocated to public television.”

Discuss how well reasoned . . . etc.

The argument discussed in the memorandum on the arts from a large city’s council tries to establish a direct link between the number of visits to the art museums and the amount of media coverage with regard to the visual arts. According to the surveys, which were conducted 5 years ago, the 15 per cent increase in TV programs on arts resulted in the approximately same amount of growth in the number of people visiting the city’s art centres. However, now the public television, which mainly broadcasts those art programs, faces the lack of financial support as a result of a severe decrease in corporate funding. Consequently, the city council, which hypothesises that this tendency will cause the decline of the interest towards the museums, concerns about the current situation. At the same time they suggest subsidising the public television through the city’s funds. However, the statement is unconvincing and has several flaws.

First of all, people’s views on the media have changed dramatically in very recent times. Thus, the poll, which was held 5 years ago, cannot be applicable now anymore. Because, 5 years ago people used to watch TV a lot rather than they do today. However, now they prefer social media and spend most of their spare time by surfing on it. Before making any conclusion, the new poll should be conducted and the number of people regularly watching TV should be revealed. Therefore, the survey of 5 years on media cannot act as a justified fact for this argument.

Secondly, the city council claims that the amount of media coverage on TVs will increase the interest for the art museums. This is again a very weak and totally unsupported statement, as the argument does not demonstrate any direct correlation between the number of TV programs and museum visits. There might be other reasons, which affect the interest for the art centres. For instance, the activities such as any promotions by the museums, the textbooks, the role of social media etc. should also be analysed in detail before drawing any conclusion with regard to the art museums.

Finally, the city council is going to reallocate the financial support that is supposed to be paid for the arts. However, this statement would deviate the authorities from the main purpose. Because, the primary goal is to preserve the art pieces, not the promote them. If the city council reallocates the funds, the amount of money for the supporting the arts will decrease. Consequently, the questions like “How much will the reallocation of the arts funds be effective?”, “Will the support for the arts themselves be affected?” remain open to debate. Without convincing answers to these questions, one left with the impression that the claim is more of an amateur thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthen if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts with respect to the correlation between the number of museum visits and the amount of TV coverage. In order to assess the merits of a certain situation, it is essential to have full knowledge of all contributing factors. In this particular case, the role of innovations, time, promotions by themselves of the museums and other tens of aspects should be taken into account. Without this information, the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.