The following appeared in a memorandum issued by a large city’s council on the arts:

“In a recent citywide poll, 15 percent more residents said that they watch television programs about the visual arts than was the case in a poll conducted five years ago. During these past five years, the number of people visiting our city’s art museums has increased by a similar percentage. Since the corporate funding that supports public television, where most of the visual arts programs appear, is now being threatened with severe cuts, we can expect that attendance at our city’s art museums will also start to decrease. Thus some of the city’s funds for supporting the arts should be reallocated to public television.”

The conclusion made my the city council in regards to the impact of budget cuts is flawed and lacks evidence to support its claim. The justification for the museum’s conclusion is limited by a survey that was conducted for television programing rather than specifically for the museum. However there are several other factors which should be considered before coming to this conclusion.

Firstly, museum is assuming that the residents who watched the programs on television are visiting the Museum. However, the poll that the museum was referring to merely states that 15 percent more residents watch television programs about visual arts without giving more information as to whether the residents surveyed where interested in visiting the museums after watching the programs on television. Secondly, the museum should also consider doing their own poll to gather more information regarding what caused the rise of visitor to the museum that way their conclusion could be justified. Lastly, the

memorandum issued by the museum also predicts that by allocating funds to public television would increase the visitors to the museum which has no substantial justification. The museum could look into other marketing strategies and alternatives which would influence the visitors.

Since the memorandum issued only consider a single poll which was conducted five years ago as the basis for its conclusion, it is not justifiable and the argument is severely flawed. however, by considering the above points discussed, the museum could validate their conclusion and present a legitimate case.