The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area , but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memorandum from the WWAC radio station conclude to change their content oof current rock-music format to news and talk format. The manager must be come to this conclusion based on the certain evidence such as there is decline in listening to music despite increase in population. Also, the growth is believed to be continue as the radio serve as news and talk format because people are moving to the city of radio station after their retirement, and they are fond of news rather than music. However, the manager's assumption might be true if he is able to answer the following questions.

Firstly, what if the tase of people who came after their retirement are fond of music rather than news? or in other words what if the person retiring from their duty after retirement wants to listen music as they have missed a romantic part of their life decorated by music? Then, they must want to listen the music and indulge in the feeling of lyrical milieu. Also, they might want to be magnanimous in the beautiful nostalgia in the past. They might want to be with their loved ones in beautiful passionate environment. If such scenario is true, then the assumptions made by the manager above is critically weaken.

Secondly, what if the people in the city of radio station are buying the recorded music as much as they do in the past when the WWAC radio station is gaining a much profit and the data of sales show less buying of recorded music because another format of music is exported much ore greater than buying of recorded music? There might be the case as the data from the music storing is showing less selling of the recorded music as other music might have got much higher sale, which makes the selling data of recorded music very less. Also, there might be the wrong data regarding selling of recorded music from the music store which gives the false impression of lowering the passion of recorded music. If both scenario above is true, then the assumption made by the manager doesn't hold water.

Lastly, what if the rock-music now are not the taste of rock-music past? that is, what if the saccharine in the rock music in the past is not found today. The different person might like different compositions in the music like someone may love lyrics or other may love cadence. Also, the retired population that were came after retirement may like the things that the WWAC music station is not delivering. If such cases is true, then the assumptions made in in the argument above can be doubt.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the manager is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the assumptions to shift from rock-music form to news and talk form of WWAC radio station.