The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memorandum from the television station's business manager concluded that in order to make the radio station more lucrative, the forecast of weather and local news must be encouraged. The manager was come to this conclusion based on the fact that there is more complaints from the locals regarding less representation of the weather and local news forecast. Also, the advertiser of radio station are cancelling their contract with the radio station. However, before these assumptions can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

Firstly, what if there is no rapid change of weather and people wants to listen the forecast of international rather than local? There might be some issues regarding international weather and pupils in the city are eager to know such instances in weather. The author might have assumed that the local are interest in local weather time to time and do not assume they are interest in international weather conditions. Also, People must hear the news of their own interest and the manger might have assumed that the choice of news category among city's peoples are the same. If either of the scenario is true, expanding the forecast of weather and local news will not attract revenues.

Secondly, advertisers might have assumed that people will listen to weather and local news more often and advertise their services and products in such programs might assist their company's profit. What if listeners of weather forecast and local news are not interested in advertisement rather, they want to know the main content of forecasts. for instance, people are only eager to know the local weather and are not interest in buying advertiser's product. Also, the listener might irritate because of the advertise in the middle of weather and local news forecasts. They might not listen although radio station played weather forecasts and news more often due to advertisement. If such scenario is true, managers assumptions does not hold water.

Lastly, the managers assumed that almost all listeners are complaining about radio station's content regarding station's coverage of weather and local news. but what if manages have vary poor knowledge of people in the local? What if only people who want to listen to weather and local news are complaining although most of the people are enjoying the late-night news program? Many of folks in the local might be addicted to late night news program and are not complaining about the weather and local news. Also, the radio station might have lost the revenues due to some other reasons loke untimely delivering of news or excessive forecasting of contents which are out of interest among pupils. If such cases is trues, than the assumptions considered by the manager is severely weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as is stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more tangible evidence (perhaps in the form of systematic research study), it will be fully possible to evaluate the viability of the manager's assumptions to expand their coverage of weather and local news on their program in order to attract more viewers to their programs and avoid losing any further advertising revenues.