The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The manager of WWAC radio station is concern with the decline of in population of listener. To increase several listener the radio station manager decided to replace rock music by news and talk format because the people moved in radio frequency area after their retirement. The manager assumes that the retired people are not interested in rock music and it should be changed by their interest’s programs. I am not convinced with the given argument and before taking any step the manager should consider other point of view also.

Moreover, the radio station should find concert data of population lived in radio frequency area. Before taking any step the WWAC radio station must work on their research area and take interviews also from their listener. When they get solid data than only they can come to conclusion otherwise the action will not be beneficial. On the large-scale projects company never work by observation only.

Additionally, with the research radio station should analyse their radio programs and their timings also. It may be possible the radio station is not performing their work with full efficacy and the listeners get bored with programs. As it is mentioned in the argument that the population of listeners decline but the decline population is not necessary belong to senile group only. The manager over assumed that due to retired people shifted to the area is not clearly indicate that they are the major reason for decrease in listeners. One more important point is generally the radio and televisions broadcast programs related to all age groups and always take care their listeners, but in the given argument the manager talked about to start programs for retired people. The manager’s statement clearly indicates the lack of effectively of the programs.

One more important to be considered is the advertisements repeated on the radio channel. For some listeners the advertisements are boring so it may be one of the reasons of the decline in listeners. The manager should take feedback for radio station as well as same processor follow for radio jockeys. The radio stations popularity is based on the radio host who can make the show rock as well as flop.

Finally, the argument become weakens on the basis of aforementioned points, so the manager should analyse before taking any decision.