The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"WWAC must change from its current rock-music format because the number of listeners has been declining, even though the population in our listening area has been growing. The population growth has resulted mainly from people moving to our area after their retirement, and we must make listeners of these new residents. But they seem to have limited interest in music: several local stores selling recorded music have recently closed. Therefore, just changing to another kind of music is not going to increase our audience. Instead, we should adopt a news-and-talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this memorandum, the manager of wwac radio station argues that this radio station must change its current rock-music format to reverse a decline in listener numbers. The argument may seem convincing, but the lack of evidence leads me to doubt the validity.

First, the manager of wwac radio station needs to provide solid evidence on the possibility of changing their music style that will lead to reversing a decline in listener numbers. it is possible that the main reason of declining number of listeners would be not because of the rock music itself, but because of the outdated one aired by the radio station. The majority of listeners prefer trendy and the latest rock music, hence they do not listen old rock from wwac. also, it could be likely that changing rock music to other types of music does not guarantee that they can reverse the declining trend. if the number of people like other format of music is less significant than that of people like rock-music format, by doing so, they could lose more listeners than gain. thus, they should not hastily decide to change their music format.

Second, more concrete pieces of evidence are needed on the information about new residents who moved there after their retirement. it is plausible that many of them like to exercise and needlework instead of listening to music in their free time, and therefore even if wwac change their music format to another tailored to their tastes, they might not listen it. also, even if they have a lot of interest in listening to music, it could be possible that almost every people like all different formats of music. Then, it would be impossible to play all of the different music genre within certain time and only a negligible number of new residents will listen it. therefore, they should not change the rock-music format to others liked by the retirees.

Lastly, the radio station manager needs to supplement the argument with more specific evidence on the benefit that can be gained from changing to a news and talk format. The manager states that a steady decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music, and thus should change to totally different format. However, there is no causal relationship between such phenomenon and decreasing number of radio music listeners. this is because, in all likelihood, more and more people use online music stream instead of purchasing the actual recorded music products, and the number of music listeners might be the same. hence, it cannot be the cause for airing news and talk format instead. also, it is possible that the increasing popularity of the news and talk form is an aberration and might not last in the long term.

In brief, the argument is unpersuasive on many grounds. To bolster the argument, the manager needs to supply more valid information on the new residents’ tastes and the causal relationship between the consumption of recorded music and popularity of music.