The following appeared in a memorandum from the mayor of Wistfold.

“A recent study revealed that the number of children requiring medical attention for

illnesses in our town is 40 percent higher than in the neighboring town of Champsfield.

Last year the Champsfield school district implemented an educational program called

“Kerzac Plus” that promotes healthier habits among children. Because prepackaged

convenience foods have less nutritional value than fresh fruits and vegetables, Kerzac Plus

guidance led to banning the sale of candy bars and soft drinks in Champsfield schools.

Kerzac Plus also provides informational posters and live presentations for children that

explain the importance of healthy foods and exercise, as well as the risks of making

unhealthy lifestyle choices. The clearest explanation for the lower medical needs of

Champsfield’s children compared withWistfold’s is the introduction of the Kerzac Plus

program to promote student health.”

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could

rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account

for the facts presented in the argument.

In a memorandum from the mayor of Wistfold, the author concludes that the number of children requiring medical attention for illness in their town is higher than in the neighboring town of Champsfield. The reason cited by the author for this observation was the introduction of the Kerzac Plus program in the Champsfield school which was designed to promote health among its students. This program uses several approaches to promote student health such as using posters or presentations to explain the importance of health, or banning unhealthy and prepackaged food. Although the cited pieces of evidence seem logical and probable, the assumptions on which the conclusion relies do not lend credible support to the argument. Hence the argument seems logically unconvincing in several aspects.

Firstly, the author assumes that the survey was conducted on a large sample of children and was representative. The percentage is a relative term. Perhaps the number of children in Witsfold is relatively more than that in Champsfield. For instance, if there are only 20 children in Champsfield with only 5 children suffering from illness whereas, there are 100 children in Witsfold, then this means that the relative fraction of children suffering in Witsfold is less. Thus, the lesser population of children in Champsfield can have a higher rate of illness as compared to that of Wistfold. If this is true, then the entire purpose of the argument would be undermined. Further was the survey conducted on the entire population of children or was it focusing only on the children from the Champsfield school district. Perhaps the students who do not attend this school may be suffering from illness as well. Thus, the author should provide additional information about the survey that was conducted.

In addition to this, the author assumes that introducing healthier foods such as fruits and vegetables and banning the sale of candy bars and soft drinks would lead to the development of healthy habits among children. Although, introducing healthy foods can help in achieving the desired result, but completely banning the availability of candy bars or soft drinks can cause dissatisfaction among the students. They would start to complain about the food that is provided to them and might as well bring unhealthy lunches to the school. Thus, the Kerzac program could not be attributed as the reason for the fewer number of children facing illness in Champsfield town. Also, the higher level of illness in the children of Witsfold could be attributed to other reasons such as climatic changes. Thus, implementing the new program in their schools won't be an effective approach to deal with the situation.

Finally, the author assumes that using information posters and live presentations can help in explaining the importance of healthy food and exercise as well as the risk of making unhealthy food choices. But what if the students find these presentations boring and monotonous? Perhaps, they would not lose interest and attention while listening to such presentations and hence would not take any efforts to assimilate the information that is provided to them. In this case, adopting such a strategy would be considered futile. Even if it is assumed that the presentation has succeeded in creating a positive impact on the children, but one cannot rule out the possibility that the students may revert to an unhealthy lifestyle after the school hours, or perhaps in later stages of their lives.

To sum up, the argument consists of some obvious fallacies and loopholes. Small, biased, and unrepresentative samples can weaken the argument. To bolster the argument, the author should have provided additional information about the survey that was conducted and to what extent can the new program be considered effective. But in the absence of this data, the argument relies on certain doubtful assumptions that render it unconvincing as it stands