The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of human resources at Climpson industries concludes, that by installing software that detects the employees' internet usage on company computers can help prevent employees wasting their time on personal or recreational activities and improve their overall profits. Although, the cited evidences seem logical and probable, however, the assumptions on which the conclusion relies does not lend credible support to the argument. Hence the argument seems logically unconvincing in several aspects.

Firstly, the vice president assumes that employees who are using internet on the company's computers are actually wasting time on personal recreational activities such as shopping or playing games. But, it may happen that these employees are actually using the internet to search for things related to some conundrum that they encounter while doing their work. For instance, an employee might struggle solving some complex problem or maybe facing an error while writing some code. The employees maybe some programmers who often use several websites in order to get help in solving certain programming errors or use the internet to know about any concept related to their work. In this scenario preventing these employees from using the internet can be unfair to them as they are showing immense dedication and diligence in obtaining excellence in their work. Moreover, is the new software capable of identifying why was the internet used by the employees in addition to measuring the duration its usage?. Only by providing this information can one guarantee that the new software that is to be installed will be effective in increasing the productivity of employees.

In addition to this the author assumes that all of the employees who use internet waste their time on internet. It may happen that only a few of these employees are wasting their time, while most of them are productive and sedulous in their works. Since the author has not provided any statistical figures which could have strengthened the argument, the assumption seems irrelevant to the conclusion. Also, suppose some of the employees who have worked hard for the entire day , try to take break from the exhaustive work hours and use the internet for their own pleasure.In this case the new software will falsely indicate that these employees have been unproductive and not dedicated towards their work.Thus, it would be unfair to punish these employees.This in turn, would create adverse effects on the company's goal of increasing productivity and profits as the employees will begin to lose their determination and interest in completing their work.

Finally the author assumes that the employees, wasting time on internet, is the only factor responsible for their unproductivity. However, some employees may be wasting their time by wandering in their workplaces and chit-chatting with other employees. This factor may also lead to the decreasing unproductivity in their work environment. Thus the company should focus on improving this problem instead of wasting their money on installing software to detect the employee's internet usage time. To strengthen the argument, the author should have provided with more factors that could be attributed to unproductivity among the employees.

To sum up, the argument consists of certain obvious fallacies and loopholes. The argument is based on certain stated/unstated assumptions such as accuracy and high reliability of the new software that are to be installed, high number of employees wasting their time on the company's computers, increasing profits and improving work ethics by punishing the employees for their unproductivity. Relying on these doubtful assumptions and considering them to be true makes the conclusion irrelevant and unconvincing as it stands.