The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

Argument Topic :“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

The owner of Movie Galore is suggesting to apply the same operative changes in all the stores of his video rental chain based on the effects that these same changes had on in his downtown Marston shops. However, despite closing the store at an earlier hour and removing old movies helped reducing expenses in that particular store, I believe the owner ought to consider more information before applying such a drastic move.

First of all, he should consider each single shop singularly and evaluate the pick hours in which customers usually go renting movies. Are all the shops the same, on this regard? In other words, is the zenith of rentals at the same hour in all the stores? If this is verified, it could actually make sense to apply the same change for all the stores of the chain. However, even if these answers would provide an affirmative response, it should be also considered what hours are the most crowded in these shops. If, for instance, people are used to rent movies and documentaries after six in the afternoon, just after getting off work or, even more likely, just before laying on the couch to watch television at night, it would be particularly silly closing the shop earlier. In this eventuality, it would be probably better opening later in the morning, which would reduce the same amount of expenses, still allowing the most customers to visit the store at their preferred hour.

Secondly, the owner is proposing to also copying the Marston branch in removing all the movies older than five years. Although this move seemed to actually work in Marston, this does not allow us to say it will be as effective in the other stores. The owner, ought to ascertain whether the oldest movies are not often rented in all of the stores or if the Marston case represent only a particular situation. Is downtown Marston a young neighbor? A positive answer to this question, might be the reason why the inhabitants of the area tend to rent only more recent movies. Are all the stores located in mostly young environments or some of them are also in more grown-ups populated area? If, for instance, one of the stores is in an area mostly inhabited by elder people would not be a wise choice to remove older movies, since they will probably be more likely to rent them rather than more modern titles.

In conclusion, there are many other questions that need to be answered before deciding whether applying the effective Marston shop changes to the whole chain is actually a good idea. By not considering these supplemental data the owner could make a drastic choice which would not eventually have the expected return.