The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company."Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appli

According to the author, this area's residents like to store energy at home gradually, and there are new appliances and passive sloar heating equipments in the market. Thus the author predicted that the demands of electicity for this area will not increase hence the new construction of generating plants will not be necessary either. While given the reasons , the judgements by the author are problematic.Let's rexamine them including ,the users and appliants and generating plants carefully.

To begin with, the rencet survey isn't convincing without the range of residents and the reasons why they conserve energy. In this survey, the author merely tell us more and more residents are willing to store power but does not tell us how many of them in total, which means we do not know the people's portion among the whole residents. Maybe just a few people have a try of storing energy at home. So in this condition it could not represent the trend of this area. Moreover, the author does not develve into this survey to find out why they want to do so. There is a high possility the the electricity price is too high that these residents can not afford to it. This would make the author reshedule the strategey of the electric power company.

Secondly,the emergence of new saving-enery appliances shows no relevance to the decreasing of electricity using. The author notes that the manufactures are marketing new appliances which could save half energy than before, meanwhile the new technology of insualtion and passive solar heating will reduce the demands of electricity enery for heating. While the author does not mentions how many people bought these appliances.Due to the stability of home appliances like fridges,maybe there are few people will change their appliances in well conditions. What's more, the new technology of inslation and passive solar heating is not presented as equipments for home use, the author does not tell us when these new technology will appear in themarket, so we can not conclude the demands of electricity will not increase.

Finally, as the author predicts thatr the demands of electriciy will not increase, there is an important issue we need to notice that the author suggests that the company needn't build new plants given the power generating by three plants which built twenty years ago is enough. This prediction is precarious by the fact that the three panlts have been in working for twenty years, duo to the consideration of safety, I suggest the author to evaluate the plants first to make sure their stability then to make further choice.

In conclusion, the author does not show the evidence to prove that the demands of electricity is declining, he should make a wide survey to make sure whether his predicment is right.