The following is a letter to the editor of the Waymarsh Times."Traffic here in Waymarsh is becoming a problem. Although just three years ago a state traffic survey showed that the typical driving commuter took 20 minutes to get to work, the commute now ta

It is argued that, in order to solve the traffice problem in Waymarsh, the author suggests the policy in Garville should be taken to their place. Given that the commuting time was doubled than three years ago while the new road construction was obstacled by funding and potential complains by residents. While the city Garville took a good implement that the people who commute by bikes will be rewarded by the couponsfor tickets, even the pollution levels have dropped down since then. Due to the successful pratice in Garville, the author's suggestion seems to be operative while there are some loopholes in this statement. Let's reexmaine it carefully.

To begin with, the author does not make clear what caused the taffic problem. Merely the double commuting time could not draw any useful conclusion. Maybe with the development of Waymarsh, there were more and more people drove to work while less of them take other methods like bus or metros. In this supposition, the taffic problem could be caused by increasing number of vehicles. Moreover, there are two survey of the trafiic problem while the author does not tell us the people invovled in this investigation recently are the asme group which were surveyed three years ago. Because different people may provide various result on the same traffic issues, maybe the people took the survey recently were all commuting by bus while that group of people drove to work three years ago. In this point the survey is not convincing to prove the suggestion.

In addtion, the two cities are not comparable on traffic issues due to many different factors, let alone the policy of riding bikes to work with awards. Firstly, the locations and roads are different between the two places. In that maybe the Waymarsh is a developing city where more and more people living in, so the infrastructure construction including roads has not catch up with the increasing people moving in, so there are traffic problems. While the Garville maybe just a small city where few people working there, due to the policy given by the authority, it is highly possible that the people do not live very far from the work place, so the do not need so many cars meanwhile the commuting time is always short. Secondly, on the other hand, maybe the Waymash is a large palce so people have to take cars or at least buses to work, so it is not feasible for them to ride bikes. In additon to the roads to work full of cars, it is not wise to ride bikes among the vehicles whose polluted gas is harmful to people. Thirdly, the author does not show us the finacial condtion and new road plan to us , so it is not impossible to build new roads even if it will disturb some residents which the number of them still unclear, if few , this is another way to sovlve the problem with proper policy to the disturbed residents.

In conclusion, the suggestion made by the author is not compelling as there are no obvious evidence to prove the neccestiy of practicing the policy taken in another city. The author should make a wide survey to make the taffice peoblem more clear.