The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The department of electric power company adduces that there is no requirement for the implementation of a novel generating plant in their area; this conclusion is raised from the series of assumptions which are in the first glance seem appealing. However, they cannot be accepted as they stand, since they rely on the list of shaky and skeptical clues which require further explanation to be verified.

The first surmise is the generalization of recent studies, which depict the incline of homeowners for reduction of energy use, to the considered neighborhood. This surmise can be valid in the case, which the survey is specifically concentrated on this area. There is a possibility these researches are conducted in the well-developed countries where the denizens are more eager about energy consumption; on the other hand, this trend is not a privilege in the considered area. Furthermore, even with the consideration that this region is considered in these studies, there is no evidence that this willing is equal to less consumption. Maybe, citizens of the region are wishing to reduce their energy consumption; however, there is no well-rearing information about the methods of reduction. Consequently, people implement the fallacious methods of conservation which cause extra energy use. Therefore, these studies merely cannot represent that habitats in this region consume less electrical energy.

The second hypothesis is the production of energy efficient home appliances with the advanced-technology in insulation and passively harvesting of solar energy will reduce the reliance of the people in this area to the electrical energy. This surmise is a dubious one since the production of the efficient appliance, well-insulation method for the dwellings or energy harvesting from the sun are not the warranty of their usage in homes of that specific area. There is the possibility that these new technics are expensive and beyond that region’s dweller annually budget; therefore, they prohibit to use these technologies to reduce their reliance on electrical energy.

Finally, the company assumes that since during the past twenty years the electrical plants have fulfilled the demands of this region, there is no requirement for the addition of plant. This surmise is a skeptical one since the probability of the alteration of electricity demand in the future is underestimated. There is the possibility of the increment of dwellers in this region for the sake of migration factor, or the novel electricity depended appliances are used by the dwellers which leads to the further requirement. On the other hand, since there is no data about the generation compacity of the generator plants, this thought that there will not the requirement for the extra energy is invalid.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned assumptions explicitly illustrate that this memo and its result are dubious substance and require further clues about the studies and their possibility of generalization in this area, the development of the technology of insulation and appliances are a guarantee of their implementation in this region. In addition, the three generator plants can fulfill the future demands regardless of the increment of the demands for the sake of population growth or novel demands on the electrical appliances