The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author proposes that the construction of the new generating plants would not be required in the years to come. His proposition is based on the assumption that three generating plants be adequate for energy generation in the years to come.

The author assumes the surveys are reliable. The survey states that the people are eager to conserve energy. But that does not mean they will necessarily conserve energy. Many a times a person's conscience is responsible in responding to such questions. So he might have answered the survey in the spur of the moment. But it can't be verified that the energy conservation will actually be brought into action.

Though the manufacturers are marketing energy efficient appliances, we don't know whether they are affordable to the people. Since many of these energy efficient devices can be expensive. Hence, we cannot infer that people will buy them. As the devices are so energy efficient, people can also buy more of these devices. If there are more devices in use,the consumption of energy will not necessarily go down. On the contrary, energy consumption can even increase. So it cannot be right to assume that the demand for electricity will not increase.

The author states that the three generating plants have always met the needs and hence construction of new generating plants is not necessary. But there can be a surge in population in the area and the energy requirements can increase. There can be immigration in the area leading to increase in population. This in turn can result in the need of new generating plants.

Thus, the proposition made by the author can be considered only for the present situation. But in the long run, it does not remain valid.