The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memorandum, it is stated that the planning department of an electric power company is not considering the construction of new electric generating plants as there are more energy-efficient home appliances available in the market and for the past 20 years three old plants have always met their needs. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three assumptions have to be analyzed.

First of all, the author has not mentioned how recent are the surveys taken. In other words, the surveys would be 5 years old and can be deemed 'recent' by the author. It is possible that the results of all these surveys would not hold good for the present situation at all. Perhaps the numbers of homeowners surveyed are very less or they are no longer staying in the same locality. Further, there is a possibility that the mindset of the homeowners has changed during that time period because no significant steps were taken by the local authorities for the same. If either of these assumptions holds true, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the author has made a big assumption that the homeowners will buy new home appliances to conserve energy. There is no data or proof mentioned by the author that homeowners previously using the appliances will sell their old appliances to just buy new ones which can even cost them a fortune. It is possible that owners have brought a refrigerator just two weeks ago and just because the manufacturers launched an energy-efficient refrigerator a few days after the purchase, owners will not prefer buying a new one and put themselves in financial trouble. Perhaps they would have taken personal loans to buy a home appliance which would have put them in a debt. In an ideal world, owners would prefer selling all energy inefficient appliances, but if the reality is such that they cannot do so due to the logistics of their situation. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Finally, the area where the survey is taken is not mentioned. There is no data about the weather conditions of the homeowners whose survey has been taken. It is possible that the survey taken was someplace near the equator where the temperature goes above 40 degrees celsius. Hot and humid areas are required to use air conditioners on a large scale than the areas in a normal climate. Perhaps having just three 20 years old electric generating plants would not be enough. There is no guarantee that the plant will work in the same pristine condition even after 20 years. Further, there is a possibility that the population will increase dramatically in a few years and as mentioned by the author that electric generating plants have always met their needs would not hold true. If either of these scenarios holds true, then the argument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flaw due to its reliance on unwanted assumptions. If the author is able to offer more evidence (perhaps in form of a systematic research study) for the above situations, then it is possible to fully evaluate the viability of the recommendation to not construct any more electric generating plants.