The following appeared in a memorandum from the president of Aurora, a company that sells organic milk (milk produced without the use of chemical additives):

“Sales of organic food products in this country have tripled over the past five years. If Aurora is to profit from this

continuing trend, we must diversify and start selling products such as organic orange juice and organic eggs in

addition to our regular product line. With the recent increase of articles in health magazines questioning the safety of

milk and other food products, customers are even more likely to buy our line of organic products. And to help ensure

our successful expansion, we should hire the founder of a chain of health-food stores to serve as our vice president

of marketing.”

Discuss how well reasoned . . . etc.

The paragraph provided is from the memorandum of Aurora’s president, Aurora is a company that sells organic milk. The president has assumed that the company can increase its profit margin with the country’s current trend of organic food consumption. He/She has attained the conclusion without proper strong evidences that can substantiate their claims. Because, the reasons provided such as the general liking of organic products, diversifying their catalogue items and assuming their milk is safe are highly superficial. And one more major assumption here is hiring the founder of a health food store as vice president of marketing would ensure their successful expansion. The assumptions stated above are lacking evidences to convince that it is a logically derived conclusion.

Primarily, let us consider the assuming that since the sales of organic food have tripled in the past five years,it would continue to do so. There is no statistical evidences based on any survey proving that there will be a continuous liking towards the organic food products. Any research advocating that consuming organic food items is beneficial for the overall health isnt provided. The author has failed to provide data and reasons to assume that people would still prefer or continue to like organice foods in the coming years. It is evident that the author has blindly assumed that the trend would continue to be so in the coming years without even understanding why it was high in the preivous years and they can relatively see a high profit margin in the future.

Secondly, the president is suggesting to diversify their product lines with organic juices and eggs. He has failed to provide evidences to justify the need. Had there been any substantial evidence that proves the need of the above mentioned items or any request from potential customers or existing customers to diversify the organic food range from Aurora, then this claim is valid to increase their profit margin.

And also , he has mentioned that health magazines are questioning the safety of milk and milk products. The president widely assumes that Aurora's product is safe because it doesnt have any additional chemicals. But the details of the artcile regarding the parameters checked and questioned arent given for the readers to understand that organic milk from Aurora is comparatively safer. And they have also failed to mention the composition of their milk packet/sachet/bottle for a better understanding of their product.

Finally, the president has suggested that hiring the founder of chain of health care products as Vice President of marketing would ensure their successful expansion. This is a blind assumption and a complete marketing gimmick to fool the consumer. Organic products doesnt ensure healthy food and there is no support for the same from the author. Data representing the success of the health care product and its founder is aware of the attributes of the organic products and arent provided to convince that he/she is the right choice for the open position. He/she might have even failed his start up which indirectly means has failed to convince the consumers and is looking for a job opportunity.

To conclude, there are many doubts that has arised from the claims of the president and his suggestions. If there is enough data answering all the above doubts such as the need of the organic food in the future, health benefits of the organic milk, and safety of consuming the same, data why the founder is the right candidate for marketing then the conclusion might be acceptable. Otherwise this seems an emotionally derived statement.