The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, a small-scaled but expanding company specialized in the sales of health-related products and health-oriented food, he proposed setting up a new store in Plainsville based on some reasons. While his recommendation might hold water, it rests on some unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, drastically weakens the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, valid evidence must be provided for the following assumptions mentioned below.

First, he assumes that because shops selling running shoes and equipment for exercise in Plainsville just recently started to record massive sales, this would mean that the residents of Plainsville are becoming particular about their health and thus they should for the food they eat. But this might not be true, perhaps there is a marathon competition going on in town and so, many residents interested in participating are buying running shoes, but after this game, they would all be returned to normal life where exercising is absent. For this reason, the vice president should inquire from these sport equipment merchants what reason has influenced the recent boast of their sales.

Secondly, he stated that the local health club which almost shut down five years due to low patronage, now has more clients, with the weight-training and aerobics classes full incapacity. However, he fails to tell us what number of people make up these "full" classes, what the number of attendees is. Let's assume that about 1500 people live in Plainsville, but only less than 1% of a population makes up these "full" classes, and this number, unfortunately, might not measure up to the expected number of patronage that would equate to a "good" sale for Health Naturally. Therefore I would recommend that the vice president gets his numbers right by seeking to know how many people attend the local health club.

Thirdly, it would be wrong to predict a new generation of customers just base on the fact that Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in the Fitness for Life program. Because a child is mandated to exercise doesn't mean they would only want to eat grains, fruits, vegetables, and similar nourishing meals. It would also be an error to think that all of these schoolchildren would remain in Plainsville when they're older, or that they would lead healthy lifestyles at an older age when exercising just to get a good grade in the subject is no longer the case.

Finally, even if the evidence provided for the above-mentioned assumptions does support the vice president's claim. If the people who live in Plainsville are truly leading healthy lives, there is no valid evidence to back up the claim that just like other stores, this one would also be successful. This is because several factors are responsible for the success of a business. It is probable that even though Plainsville residents love to eat healthily, Health Naturally products might cost more than what an average person in this area is willing to pay for food. It could also be that a lot of them even grow their food, and thus wouldn't need the services of Health Naturally. Therefore, in this case, sales of Health Naturally products might see as much success as expected. I would thus recommend that the vice president conduct thorough research on things beyond just the interest of people.

In conclusion, while the vice president might have come up with a sound proposal of establishing a branch of the company in Plainsville, more evidence supporting his claims is needed. If he can provide more information to back up his claims, the validity of the argument would be considered strong.