The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors.

"Over 80 percent of the respondents to a recent survey indicated a desire to reduce their intake of foods containing fats and cholesterol, and today low-fat products abound in many food stores. Since many of the food products currently marketed by Old Dairy Industries are high in fat and cholesterol, the company's sales are likely to diminish greatly and company profits will no doubt decrease. We therefore advise Old Dairy stockholders to sell their shares, and other investors not to purchase stock in this company."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

The prompt’s author argues that investors should not invest in Old Diary. He/she bases this argument on the firm’s marketing of its high fat and cholesterol food items despite a recent survey revealing that 80% of respondents no longer desire such products. While there may be some truth to the author’s position, it is currently a spurious one as it fails to answer four key questions.

To begin, is the prompt’s author a reliable and trustworthy source? While the author assumes that he is, we should not be so credulous in assuming so. Indeed, it is possible that there are several underlying motives behind the author’s position. For instance, he/she may work for one of Old Diary’s competitors. If so, his/her argument against Old Diary is not a particularly surprising one. Besides this scenario, there are several other possible scenarios that can lead to a biased opinion against Old Diary. For example, the author may be a strong healthy lifestyle advocate. If so, he/she is perhaps biased against this firm as its products do not align with this lifestyle. Given that these are plausible answers to the question asked earlier, one cannot simply assume the author is an unbiased source. Given this, the author’s position is potentially weakened.

Secondly, even if the author is a reliable source, are the survey results valid and reliable ones? The underlying assumption the author makes is that they are in the prompt. Yet, this may not be the case. For instance, if the study consists of only five participants out of the potential hundreds or thousands of Old Diary’s customers, then it is quite unlikely that the results would generalize to all of Old Diary’s customer base. Besides the quantity aspect, there may also be similar quality issues with the sample. For example, perhaps only female seniors participated in the study. If so, then it is questionable if these results apply to males and to other age groups (e.g. teenagers, young adults, and middle aged adults). Considering the scant information provided on the survey’s participants, we cannot easily reach the author’s conclusion as we cannot rule out these possible scenarios.

Moreover, even if there are no reliability and validity issues with the survey, will the survey results apply to Old Diary? While the author assumes this to be the case, there are several scenarios that can suggest otherwise. Firstly, it is possible that Old Diary has a loyal customer base that does not care about fat content in its products. If so, the survey results are unlikely to apply to these customers. Indeed, it is even possible that Old Diary’s customer base is growing because of its products’ high fat content and taste. Given that there is nothing in the prompt that refutes these scenarios, the author’s conclusion cannot be reached.

Finally, if we assume that the survey results do apply to Old Diary, does this mean that the business will be an unprofitable one and unworthy of investment? The author adopts quite a parochial view as he/she only focuses on products regarding high fat content. Yet, it is possible that Old Diary provides various other kinds of products. Perhaps, they are expanding their healthy product range. If so, it is possible that Old Diary may become more attractive to customers and subsequently investors. Moreover, the firm may also have other products that are high in demand. For instance, they may sell exercise clothes, home-related decorations, and products in the arts and crafts arena. Perhaps, the revenue stream from these lines is expected to increase exponentially in the next few years. If so, investing in the firm may be quite fruitful for investors. Thus, the author’s position is significantly weakened if these scenarios hold water.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is a flawed one as it does not address four key matters. However, if the author can provide evidence on these issues, then it would be possible to better assess the strength of his/her position.