Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The prompt’s author argues that Nature’s Way will have a successful store opening in Plainsville. The argument is based on the chain’s trend of being successful in areas where residents lead healthy lives and statistics on Plainsville. While this position may prove to be true, it currently is a flawed one as it rests on three unwarranted assumptions.

To begin, the author assumes that the chain’s success tends to derive from areas where people lead healthy lives. However, there may be several other factors that could account for this. It is possible that the chain’s success rests largely on areas where residents are from upper-middle to upper classes. If Plainsville largely consists of lower to lower-middle class citizens with tighter budgets, then the author’s argument may not hold true. Similarly, another possible explanation for the chain’s success may derive from being located in areas where there are many youngsters. If Plainsville is comprised of a significantly more senior population, then it is not clear if the chain will be as successful as it has been in the past.

Moreover, even if the previous assumptions holds true, the author’s position may still be a tenuous one as he/she assumes that the statistics provided in the prompt are accurate indicators of the healthy lifestyles that the residents of Plainsville lead. Yet, this assumption may not necessarily be valid. That is, it is possible that people in Plainsville spend a lot on health-related products, but do not lead healthy lives. For instance, while all weight training and aerobics classes are always full in the local health club, perhaps only a miniscule number of people attend these classes. Similarly, it is possible that people buy a lot of exercise clothes and running shoes, but not actually use them. Instead, they may make these purchases for other motives, such as being liked on social media. Should there be some truth to these scenarios, the author’s argument loses some credibility.

Thirdly, the author assumes that schoolchildren represent the chain’s new generation of potential customers. He/she bases this on the fact that children are forced to participate in a fitness program. While this is true, one cannot equate action with will. That is, it is possible these children would not voluntarily decide to participate in this program if they had a choice. It may even be possible that these children develop a certain degree of hatred and frustration towards healthy lifestyles as they are being forced into this program. If so, they may not be passionate advocates for healthy lifestyles and nor for the chain’s products.

Fourthly, even if all the previous three assumptions hold true, the author assumes that the chain will have no substantial competition at Plainsville. However, this may not necessarily be true. Indeed, the market at Plainsville may already be saturated with health-focused food chains. If so, then it is not clear if Nature’s Way will be very successful in this town. Instead, if the competition is very cut-throat, then Nature’s Way may even struggle to bear the costs for its new store opening. Furthermore, even if the chain can survive in this competition, it may take several years for the firm to start thriving in this tight market. Thus, should such a situation hold water, then it is questionable if the chain can be successful in this new geographical market.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is a spurious one as it relies on three unjustifiable assumptions. However, if the author can provide more evidence on these three issues, it may be possible to better assess the strength of his/her claim.