The following appeared in a newsletter published by the Appleton school district In a recent study more than 5 000 adolescents were asked how often they ate meals with their families Almost 30 percent of the teens said they ate at least seven meals per we

In the newsletter publication, the writer suggested that having several meals together by families could help teenagers shun away from improper behaviorial act. This recommendation by the author arose from a recent study which reported that 30 percent of 5000 teenagers have meals with their families and adolescents which ate more meals per week with their families are less probable to associate themselves with illegal drugs, tobacco, and alcohol. Though, the argument seems convincing at first glance, upon further contemplation, the arguments depends on unwarranted assumptions and there are some questions needed to be answered before the acceptance of such recommendations by the author.

First, what is the assurance that the survey carried out on 5000 adolescents is adequate to hold such tenable conclusion?. Tis is because the author failed to give a meticulous record of the teenagers who were surveyed which include the age group of the selected teens, their gender as well as the area where this study took place and this lack of information counters the accuracy of the survey. For instance, it is possible that teenagers with lower age bracket were questioned or only the female genders participated in the study as well as smaller portion of particular area was considered and these cannot justify the author’s claims. Therefore, since such key factors were not elaborated by the author, this argument does not hold water and such claim is unsupported and undeveloped.

Furthermore, it was reported that 30 percent of the adolescents ate minimum of seven meals per weeks with their families, however, yet another of the argument deficiencies is that it provides no information about the 70 percent juvenile. In addition, the author claimed that only this 30 percent teens are least likely to have being involved in illegalities but this postulation is unsubstantial because the rate at which a teenager eats with his family if high or low does not determine whether he takes drugs or alcohol. The author failed to provide concrete evidence to backup his claim. Also, If the other adolescents (70 percent) probably are not unable to eat with their families due to unavailability of their family member or they attend boarding school, does that warrant that they are bad kids who do drugs or drink alcohol?. This shows that such conclusion is incoherent and seem not to align with the given facts. It is clearly obvious that the author's argument is rife with holes and thus, not strong enough.

Additionally, how does family meals correlate with one’s academic achievement, self-esteem or mood?. The argument remains unrelated because the writer did not show proof to why such claim can affect teenagers in these ways. To begin with, the author suggested a teenager who have family meals often do have less problem regarding low grades in school, on the contrary, he failed to provide more details about this claim because it is likely that such teenagers have high IQ or study hard to do excellently well. Moreover, the argument on the relationship between adolescents having low self-esteem and depression to family meal seem baseless because of the failure to present solid proof due to the fact that there is no certainty that teens who didn’t fall into the category of eating often with their families end up feeling depressed or lack confidence. Maybe if the author had included factors that apprehends the lack of family meals such as family conflict or bad heredity traits, then such assumption would have being considered reasonable. Consequently, the argument have no clear connection, rendering such assumptions illogical.

In conclusion, the author’s claim relies in several unwarranted assumptions and in order to reach a tenable conclusion, the above questions must be answered.