The following appeared in a newsletter of a social organization: "Since membership in our organization has been declining for the past year, we need to think of new ways to attract members. We need to advertise for our organization in local magazines, as

The proposal in the above statement states that with advertisement campaign, more people will join the organization if the hear about the company. The proposal writter assumes that the decline in the membership is due to lack of popularity to the public. However, few more questions needs to be answered to anounce the conceiving possibility as plausible.

The first question cast over the proposal is the reason for the decrease in membership of organization over past years. Perhaps the cause of the decrease is not due to lack of promulgation but due to quality of the service. For example, customers who enrolled in gym membership would enjoy less if the gym environment is filthy, gym equipment is antique, receptionist is unfriendly, and customer service is horrible. Over long period, that customer would most likely to terminate future membership and seek out to enroll into a gym which have better quality. Same would apply for the social organization. If the factors mentioned above are less optional, perhaps people would join after hearing about the services, but they would not enroll in the organization over long term.

Lets say that the company do have some superior quality, it is still hard to say that the advertisement would thrive and be successful. Most people do not favor disruption in their stable environment. Stable environment could include daily routines, stable health, and in this case, the membership from social organization. It is hard to assume that when they hear about the service and benefit of the organization, they would switch from the organization where they already enrolled in.

Lastly, it is unsafe to assume that all of the population in given area attends to public activity or reads local magazines. There are many people in the society who do not read newspaper or attend to activity. If that is the case, then the advertisement may not solve the declining of the social organization membership issue.

In conclusion, the proposal given from argument writer needs further investigation over few questions before anounce the plausible proposal as viable. Perhaps constructing a survery cast to people who live in social organization covered regions to obtain a better understanding of why decline happens and survey for those who enrolled in organization to ask what they enjoyed. Doing so, the organization advertiser can have a better sense of what can be improved. Without those information, the proposal can not be deemed plausible.